Posted by: lightningbug43 | January 9, 2009

Fun San Diego Charger Girls

San Diego Charger Girl, For Real!

I want to say thank you to all of the people that have responded so positively to my last blog post.  Everyone has been really great!  I love the feedback – especially from Go Bolts who helped to school my spelling skills.  It is LaDainian Tomlinson.  For the sake of anyone trying to follow my faux pax, I won’t change the former posts.  Call me out if I’m ever wrong.  I appreciate it.  Also got some good comments about Darren Sproles speech impediment, which I plan to make a future post on.  For now, though, I am going to speak more about myself.

I wanted to respond to Boltricity who asked if he missed my name.  In fact, I didn’t offer it.  As many ladies will relate, sometimes it’s not so awesome to show thyself.  I work a professional job and a little bit of anonymity is great so I can just speak my mind.  Some people will find tidbits and ancdecdotes that they will know it’s me, for the rest, I think the mystery element helps you enjoy it more.  I am an average San Diego 30 something woman witha love for a football team.  A real love for a football team, and for the amazing players the Chargers franchise has been churning out over recent years.

I have so much fun watching the Chargers that I even got a Chargers pedicure.  I am that kind of a fun Charger Girl.

Chargers Pedicure

Chargers Pedicure

Sproles Fan Charger Toes

Sproles Fan Charger Toes

I got these done at Star Nails in Pacific Beach.  They have awesome massage chairs and their prices are reasonable, plus they don’t try to upsell you every time you turn around.  They are on Garnet on the same block and side of the street as the Tap Room and Trader Joe’s.  I showed another friend of mine and she sent a girl over to get them done – another huge Charger fan girl.  Men, I am taken, but there’s still hope!  Now, if you have a favorite place to get your nails done or just don’t live in the area – here’s how I did it.

How to get your own Charger Pedicure:

1) Get a picture.  A picture is worth a thousand words.  Bring in a picture of what a Charger Bolt looks like because you never know if your nail tech will be that up on sports.  If they see it, they’ll       usually recognize it, unless they are completely blind and haven’t seen the flags all over the city.  If that’s the case, you need a new salon and there are plenty in San Diego.  You can look up Charger Bolts on Google image search if you’d like.  Or you can use this one.  Print it out in color!  Or save it to your IPhone.  (I did a last minute search while in the massage chair).

Charger Bolt

Charger Bolt

2. Go to your favorite salon and don’t forget the picture.  Get in a chair and ask for a french pedicure.

3.  Tell them you want a “flower” but say something special!  C’mon, it IS special!

4.  Show them the picture of the Charger Bolt.  At this point hope that they go over in to the corner to practice the art a few times.  My nail tech did this and it was really helpful.  She got the flow of the bolt before she went on.  Be careful though, if you recommend that they practice you may offend, causing them to screw it up intentionally.  I don’t care if you get a bad pedicure on your own time, but not on Charger time.

5.  Ask for a “Blue Lining” on the french pedicure.  I liked the way it complimented throughout all the toes.  You can go with gold if you’d like, that might be nice, too.

6. Tip well.  When  you ask for them to do crazy things and think when they already have to scrub your stinky feet, you’d better damn well tip the lady.

*Optional – Get your fingernails with a french manicure and the blue lining to compliment and match the theme.  Plus, it’s really subtle, business all day if you put closed toe shoes on.

One of the beautiful things, other than the Chargers and Darren Sproles, about San Diego is the beautiful weather.  You can wear flip flops all year round.  You can show these babies off during NFL playoffs and no one will have to miss out on the Charger spirit!

I was at a checkout counter when the teller complimented my nails.  I showed her my custom pedicure (I was really, really proud) and it was earlier in the season.  She said it was cool but she’d have to get the Patriots.  I smugly replied how difficult that would be.  The simplistic beauty of the Charger Bolt makes it easy to apply in a small space without the help of MC Escher.  We are so lucky.

Okay, so now I hope all of you feel a tad bit closer to me.  Please share!


Leave a comment

Categories